The Guildhall is an amazing survivor from the medieval period. Handed over to the Borough in 1545 by Henry VIII, the building has been used for council meetings, as a courtroom, a gaol, British Restaurant (during the Second World War) and many other purposes. In 1924, fourteen paintings were bequeathed to the Corporation and in 1926 a museum was opened in the Municipal Buildings of Boston. The Museum was transferred to the Guildhall in 1929.
The Guildhall was closed in 2001 for important building restoration work to be undertaken and reopened in 2008 as a visitor attraction and museum, telling the stories of its life in the town, including the tale of the Pilgrim Fathers being tried and imprisoned here in 1607.
Today, some of the objects and works of art are on display in the Guildhall, with temporary changing exhibitions showcasing the Borough's museum collections, with most of the remainder being held in storage and accessible by arrangement through contacting Boston Guildhall. The art collection includes interesting items, including paintings by W. B. Thomas, S. G. Enderby and an oil painting of Joseph Banks which is on permanent display in the Council Chamber.