Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.

The Wallace Collection
The Wallace Collection

The Wallace Collection is a national museum housing the wonderful works of art collected in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries by the first four Marquesses of Hertford and Sir Richard Wallace, the illegitimate son of the 4th Marquess. It was bequeathed to the British nation by Sir Richard's widow, Lady Wallace, in 1897. The Collection displays an array of European oil paintings from the fourteenth to the mid-nineteenth century. It is particularly strong in Dutch and Flemish paintings of the seventeenth century and in eighteenth- and nineteenth-century French paintings, though there are also outstanding works by English, Italian and Spanish artists. Among the painters represented are Titian, Rubens, Rembrandt, Hals ('The Laughing Cavalier'), Velàzquez, Poussin ('A Dance to the Music of Time'), Canaletto, Gainsborough and Lawrence. The Collection also includes an unrivalled range of works by many significant French artists of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries including works by Watteau, Boucher, Fragonard ('The Swing'), Decamps and Meissonier.

Visit venue's website

The Wallace Collection is an Art UK Partner

The Wallace Collection

Hertford House, Manchester Square, London, Greater London W1U 3BN England

0207 563 9500

Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit