Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.

Tate Modern

Photo credit: Tate

Open to the public

Museum or gallery in Southwark

59 artworks

Part of Tate

Plan a visit

More about

Tate Modern is the national gallery of international modern art, created in the year 2000 from a disused power station in the heart of London. Tate Modern includes modern British art where it contributes to the story of modern art, so major modern British artists may be found at both Tate Modern and Tate Britain. Tate Modern's displays consist of four wings located on Levels 3 and 5. At the heart of each wing is a large central display, or ‘hub’, which focuses on a key period in the development of twentieth-century art. These four seminal periods are Surrealism, Minimalism, Post-war innovations in abstraction and figuration, and the three linked movements Cubism, Futurism and Vorticism. Around these ‘hubs’ a diverse range of related displays present works which anticipated, challenged or responded to these four major movements. Moving back and forwards in time, these displays reflect the ongoing dialogue between past and present and suggest contemporary perspectives for approaching and reassessing the past. Tate Modern is open to the public every day of the year except 24, 25 and 26 December. Admission is free except for major exhibitions. If you wish to see a particular work of art, please check it is on display first.

Bankside, London, Greater London SE1 9TG England

020 7887 8888

Before making a visit, check opening hours with the venue