Tredegar House is one of the finest late seventeenth-century houses in the country. It was the ancestral home of the Morgan Family for over 500 years. Originally built of stone, the extravagant red brick building was completed in 1672. The House was sold with most of its contents in 1951. Following a period as a convent school, then a comprehensive, in 1974 Tredegar House was sold to Newport City Council, who still own the House and the Collection. Both have been managed by the National Trust since March 2012. Rooms reflect styles from the seventeenth century to the 1930s and include spaces designed for lavish entertaining, imposing bedchambers and substantial kitchens. The public can experience the history of the House, and the colourful Morgan family, as their portraits look down. There are stories of attempted murder, wild parties and high living. Most of the paintings were sold back to the House by the widow of the last Lord Tredegar in the 1970s.
National Trust, Tredegar House
Newport, Newport (Casnewydd) NP10 8YW Wales
Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit