Due to Covid-19 restrictions, venues and exhibitions are closed until further notice. We recommend checking with the venues' own websites for up-to-date information. Despite its name, Tintagel – called by Nikolaus Pevsner ‘the most famous of Cornish stone cottages, low, dark, picturesque, with roofs like a cluster of hills, and of a slatey hue like elephant hide’ – was not originally a post office, but a small manor house, or steward’s house. It was, however, taken over by the General Post Office as the district letter receiving office in 1844, and remained so until 1892. In 1903 it was bought by the National Trust, and restored under the direction of Detmar Blow.
National Trust, Tintagel Old Post Office
Fore Street, Tintagel, Cornwall PL34 0DB England
Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit