‘Plas yn Rhiw’, the Welsh for ‘a gentleman’s house in the village called Rhiw’ (which itself means ‘hill’ or ‘slope’; even the obscure saint to whom the church is dedicated, St Aelrhiw, has it in his name), is in a stunning location, halfway up a steep hill overlooking Porth Neigel, the harbour called, ‘Hell’s Mouth’, with views over Cardigan Bay. Built originally in 1634, it is now a Regency mansion on the outside and restored, after 1938, for three sisters, Eileen, Lorna, and Honora Ketaing, by their friend Clough Williams-Ellis – best known as the creator of Portmeirion. They gave it to the National Trust in memory of their parents, John William Keating (1834–1893) and Constance Annie Keating (1861–1944) in 1952, and subsequently donated more recovered parts of the estate, along the coast of the Llyn peninsula. The pictures primarily consist of local views, the majority of them by Claude Price.
National Trust, Plas yn Rhiw
Rhiw, Pwllheli, Gwynedd LL53 8AB Wales
Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit