Attingham Park, a fine eighteenth-century mansion, built by the 1st Lord Berwick (1745–1789), with an entrance hall adorned with Robert Fagan’s grisailles after or simulating antique reliefs and a splendid top-lit picture gallery, added to by John Nash in 1805–1807, was bequeathed along with its stunning estate and what was left of two magnificent collections – acquired by Thomas Noel Hill, 2nd Baron Berwick (1770–1832) and his brother William Noel Hill, 3rd Baron Berwick (1773–1842) from the Grand Tour in Italy – by Thomas Henry Noel Hill, 8th Lord Berwick (1877–1947). Many of the paintings were sold in a succession of sales starting during the 2nd Lord Berwick’s lifetime in 1825, 1827 and 1829 and adorn the walls of major museums around the world but notable survivals remain. These include ‘The Excavations at Pompeii’ and ‘The Lake of Avernus’ by Jakob Philipp Hackert, Luca Giordano’s 'The Death of Archimedes' and the 'Three Boy Martyrs', recently attributed to Galli. From the twentieth century is an unusual portrait of 1933, ‘Lady in Blue’ (Lady Berwick) by Walter Sickert, a friend of her father, William Hulton, also an artist, who lived with his Italian wife in Venice.
National Trust, Attingham Park
Atcham, near Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY4 4TP England
Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit