Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru / The National Library of Wales
Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru / The National Library of Wales

Due to Covid-19 restrictions, venues and exhibitions are closed until further notice. We recommend checking with the venues' own websites for up-to-date information. The National Library of Wales is based in Aberystwyth, overlooking the Ceredigion Coast. The Library was granted a Royal Charter in 1907 with a clear mandate to develop a hybrid collection with artworks as part of an overall strategy to preserve a large range of printed and orginal material. The paintings collection is focused around Welsh subject matter, Welsh portraits and Welsh artists. From the start the emphasis was to create a collection of works which represented specifically the place of Wales and the Welsh nation within history and the world. It is rich and varied. Two highlights of the early collection are the portraits 'Thomas Charles of Bala (1755–1814)' by William Roos, gifted by the artist Buddig Pughe, and Brenda Chamberlain’s 'Peter Kahn'. Later additions include the magnificent bequests of Sir Kyffin Williams and Donald McIntyre. Single gems are: 'Dolbadarn Castle' by J. M. W. Turner, the portrait of Dr Richard Price by Benjamin West, and 'Dewi yn Llanddewi Brefi (c.500–581)' by Evan Walters.

Visit venue's website

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru / The National Library of Wales is an Art UK Founder Partner

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru / The National Library of Wales

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion SY23 3BU Wales

01970 632800

Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit

  • 30 May 2020

    Wyt ti'n meddwl galle ti fod yr Owain F?n nesa'? Wyt ti'n mwynhau creu? Beth am gystadlu yn ein cystadleuaeth celf am gyfle i ennill crys p?l-droed ac arddangos dy waith yn y Llyfrgell Genedlaethol. Bydd @owainfon dewis yr enillwyr a byddant yn cael eu cyhoeddi ar 12 Mehefin.