Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.

Carrickfergus Council
Carrickfergus Council

Photo credit: Carrickfergus Council

Carrickfergus Borough Council Museum hosts a small yet significant collection of works stretching from the seventeenth century to present day. The collection includes works by Harry R. Douglas, Janet Gough and T. E. Spence. The collection ranges in a variety of styles showcasing various periods, subject matter and local relevance. The collection illustrates Carrickfergus’ history as a garrison town with strong maritime roots. Many works have been donated or bequeathed to the museum with some specifically commissioned to demonstrate Carrickfergus’ deep running civic pride. Paintings in the collection include 'Fishermans Quay' by A. C. Stannus, 'Carrickfergus Castle' by James Syer and more famously the bequeathed collection of the Davys Wilson portraits. The portraits relate to the prominent Davys Wilson family who settled in the early seventeenth century in Carrickfergus. The family served as High Sheriff for County Antrim; Burgesses; Alderman, Mayor and Members of Parliament for Carrickfergus.

Carrickfergus Council

11 Antrim Street, Carrickfergus, County Antrim BT38 7DG Northern Ireland

028 9335 8049

Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit