Carmarthenshire County Museum has on display a fine collection of paintings that are distributed throughout its galleries. The museum tells the fascinating story of Carmarthenshire. The museum is housed in a former Bishop’s Palace at Abergwili, near Carmarthen, and stands in its own grounds near the historic Merlin’s Hill. The museum was begun in 1908 and opened to the public in its present home in 1978. Among the museum’s most popular works of art are a portrait of Royalist general Sir Richard Vaughan attributed to William Dobson, ‘Welsh Landscape’ by Edward Morland Lewis and an eighteenth-century portrait of Brigid Vaughan, Madam Bevan by John Lewis.
Please note that the roof of the museum is in the process of being repaired, which means that we have had to close the museum to the public for around 12 months. We intend to reopen in early 2021.
We would like to apologise for any disappointment that this may cause our visitors and we do look forward to welcoming everyone again once we reopen. The grounds however remain open to the public and the Tywi Gateway Trust will continue to provide opportunities for visitors and volunteers as it restores the park and walled kitchen garden.
Abergwili, Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin) SA31 2JG Wales
Before making a visit, check opening hours with the venue