Barmouth Sailors’ Institute was established in 1890 by Canon. Edward Hughes, Rector of Barmouth as ‘a haven for men of all creeds’. It became a place where seafarers could relax and play chess, draughts, billiards, etc., without going to the local pub. Families could keep track of where on the high seas their men folk were through reference to Lloyd’s Register, Shipping Gazette and sea charts. Many books (900 plus) and some paintings were donated by local gentry. Over the years the Reading Room has become a repository for artefacts depicting Barmouth’s maritime history through the donation of old photographs and records. The Institute is unique in that it is the last remaining example of its kind in Wales. We have two oil paintings which have recently been restored, which both depict Barmouth around the turn of the century. We also have a restored watercolour: ‘The Deborah of Barmouth (in Barmouth Harbour)’. We are not actively adding to the collection due mainly to lack of space.
Barmouth Sailors' Institute
The Quay, Barmouth, Gwynedd LL42 1ET Wales
Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit