From Mesolithic to Motorcycles, discover the history, beauty and mystery of Ballymoney. Ballymoney Museum reopened in May 2009 following a £40,000 re-development, supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund and is located within the Town Hall. The new permanent exhibition explores the heritage of Ballymoney over the past 9,000 years, and includes an exciting exhibition on the heroes of motorcycle road racing. The museum also has a History Resource Area that contains information useful for genealogical research.
The Town Hall was erected by public subscription in 1866. It was then renovated and enlarged in 1933 and opened in February 1934. It contains life-sized portraits of Dr William Taylor who collected funds for its building. Also in the hallway is a bronze mural relief commemorating the playwright George Sheils and a large wooden plaque marking the gold medal winner of the Marathon at the 1912 Olympic Games in Stockholm, Kennedy K. McArthur from Dervock. The main window entrance to the Town Hall is also noteworthy for its stained glass with Irish interlaced ribbon work, bearing the former Ballymoney coat of arms.