Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.


Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council was created by the reorganisation of local government in 1974, when several authorities were brought together to form the Borough. These were the Cheshire Boroughs of Altrincham and Sale and the Lancashire Borough of Stretford, the Cheshire Urban Districts of Bowdon and Hale and the Lancashire urban district of Urmston, and the four parishes of Carrington, Dunham Massey, Partington and Warburton in the rural district of Bucklow. Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council changed its name to Trafford Council in 2007.