Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.


Page menu



Charles Gregson (Chairman)

Non-Executive Chairman, Nex Group plc

Vicky Barnsley (Howard), OBE

Executive Chairman of Castle Howard Estate Ltd, and Trustee of English Heritage

Rana Begum


Bob and Roberta Smith, OBE


Camilla Eden-Davies

Group Account Director, WCRS at The Engine Group

Professor David Ekserdjian

Professor of Art History, University of Leicester

George Entwistle

Former Senior Executive, BBC

Clare Lilley

Director of Programme, Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Bob Lisney, OBE

Trustee, Public Monuments and Sculpture Association

Thomas Marks

Editor of Apollo magazine

Alex Morrison

Founder and Managing Director, Cogapp

Graham Southern

Founding Director, Blain|Southern

Kim Streets

Chief Executive, Museums Sheffield




Art UK Advisory Board

Jonty Claypole Director, BBC Arts

Alison Cole Independent Consultant, formerly on the ACE Executive Board

Caroline Collier Consultant and coach; former Director of Partnerships and Programmes, Tate

Simon Groom Director, Scottish National Museum of Modern Art

Sarah Levitt Head of Arts and Museums, Leicester City Council

Avril Martindale Intellectual Property Rights Partner, Freshfields

Sarah Phillips Head of History of Art, Godalming Sixth Form College

Dr Mia Ridge Digital Curator, The British Library; former Chair of the Museums Computer Group

Kathleen Soriano Independent curator, broadcaster and Chair of Liverpool Biennial

Iain Watson Director, Tyne and Wear Museums and Galleries


Art UK Steering Panel

Tom Bilson Head of Digital Media, The Courtauld Institute of Art

Lucinda Blaser Senior Product Manager, National Gallery

Emma Chaplin Director, Association of Independent Museums

Philip Claris Head of Collections Management, National Trust

Adrian Cooper Director, Intelligent Heritage; Art UK Technology Advisor

Graham Davies Digital Programmes Manager, National Museum Wales

Christopher Ganley Digital Content Manager, National Galleries Scotland

Kevin Gosling Chief Executive, Collections Trust

Martin Grimes Web Manager, Manchester Art Gallery

Rebecca Hill Exhibitions and Collections Coordinator, Gallery Oldham

Susanna Hillhouse Collections Manager, National Trust for Scotland

Anra Kennedy Content and Partnership Director, Culture24

Ros Lawler Digital Director, Tate

Kim Mawhinney Head of Art, National Museums Northern Ireland

Lauren Marshall Hall Manager and Audience Development Officer, Merchant Adventurers’ Hall, York

Alex Morrison Director, Cogapp; Art UK Trustee

Judith Nichol Knowledge Partnerships Manager, BBC

Alex Pilcher Front End Developer, Tate

Anne Pritchard Senior Curator: Historic Art, National Museum Wales

Tessa Quinn Digital specialist

David Saywell Head of Digital Programmes, National Portrait Gallery

John Stack Head of Digital, Science Museum

Mona Walsh Head of Digital Communications, National Gallery



Sculpture Steering Panel

Professor David Ekserdjian (Chairman) Professor of Art History, University of Leicester

Professor Malcolm Baker Distinguished Professor, University of California, Riverside (on sabbatical in London)

Ann Compton Honorary Research Fellow History of Art, University of Glasgow; Project Originator, Director and Editor (Mapping Sculpture); Research Consultant (Mobilising Mapping)

Richard Deacon Sculptor

Dr Patrick Elliott Senior Curator, National Galleries of Scotland

Katherine Eustace, FSA Editor, The Sculpture Journal; Trustee, Public Monuments and Sculpture Association (PMSA)

Donald Johnston International Department Head of Sculpture, Christie’s

Lisa Le Feuvre Head of Sculpture Studies, Henry Moore Institute

Bob Lisney, OBE Trustee, Public Monuments and Sculpture Association (PMSA)

Dr Temi Odumosu, MPhil, PhD (Cantab) Art Historian, Independent Curator and Educationalist

Dr Rupert Shepherd FSA Collection Information Manager, National Gallery

Greg Sullivan Curator, British Art 1750–1830, Tate

Dr Marjorie Trusted, FSA Senior Curator of Sculpture, V&A; Co-Investigator (Mapping Sculpture)

Dr Jeremy Warren Formerly Collections and Academic Director, The Wallace Collection

Robert Wenley Head of Collections and Learning, Barber Institute of Fine Art

Jonathan Wood Research Curator, Henry Moore Institute; Project Partner (Mapping Sculpture)

Professor Alison Yarrington Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Professor of Art History, The University of Hull; Principal Investigator (Mapping Sculpture and Mobilising Mapping)


Audience Broadening Initiative Steering Panel

Lucie Fitton Head of Learning & Participation, The Audience Agency

Paul Glinkowski Senior Officer Creative Media, Arts Council England

Cliff Manning Participation and Engagement Manager, Children's Commissioner

Katie Moffat Head of Digital, The Audience Agency

Leyla Tahir ‎Digital Producer, Tate

Richard Turpin Head of Research, The Audience Agency

Sara Wajid Head of Interpretation, Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery


Art Detective Steering Panel (now retired)

Val Boa Curator, McLean Museum and Art Gallery

Adrian Cooper Director, Intelligent Heritage

Professor David Ekserdjian Professor of Art History, University of Leicester

Rupert Featherstone Director, Hamilton Kerr Institute; Assistant Director, Conservation, Fitzwilliam Museum

Dr Susan Foister Director of Collections and Deputy Director, National Gallery

Peter Funnell Curator of Nineteenth-Century Portraits and Head of Research Programmes, National Portrait Gallery

Andrew Greg Director, National Inventory Research Project; Honorary Research Fellow (History of Art), University of Glasgow 

Dr Bendor Grosvenor Independent Advisor

Dr Pat Hardy Head of Collections, Exhibitions and Displays at the National Heritage Centre for Horseracing and Sporting Art

Matthew Hargraves Curator for Collections Research and Head of Collections Information and Access, Yale Center for British Art

Professor Nigel Llewellyn Former Head of Research, Tate

Professor Robert Meyrick Head of the School of Art and Keeper of Art, Aberystwyth University

Ruth Shrigley Principal Manager: Collections Access, Manchester City Galleries


Permissions Portal Steering Panel (now retired)

Matthew Bailey Rights and Images Manager, National Portrait Gallery

Sue Barnard Relationship Manager Museums, Arts Council England

Ann Buky Licensing Consultant

Adrian Cooper Director, Intelligent Heritage

Bernard Horrocks Intellectual Property Manager, Tate

Naomi Korn Museum Copyright Consultant, Naomi Korn Copyright Consultancy

Sarah Saunders Image Workflow, Keywording and Metadata Consultant, Electric Lane


Honorary trustees

Dr Frederick Hohler

Founder, Public Catalogue Foundation

Dr Alan Borg, CBE, FSA

Former Director, Victoria and Albert Museum

Robert Hiscox

Former Chairman, Hiscox PLC

Charles Saumarez Smith, CBE

Former Chief Executive, Royal Academy

Kate Trevelyan

Former Managing Director, The Burlington Magazine