Art UK has updated its cookies policy. By using this website you are agreeing to the use of cookies. To find out more read our updated Use of Cookies policy and our updated Privacy policy.


The UK will become the first country in the world to create a free-to-access online photographic showcase of its publicly owned sculpture. The first records began appearing on Art UK in early 2019.

Prior to the project, many of these works were without records, images or online access, and many public monuments are not fully recorded and are at risk.

John Flaxman's 'Fury of Athamas' being photographed

John Flaxman's 'Fury of Athamas' being photographed

The three-year project focuses on sculpture dating from the last 1,000 years, held in public collections and outdoor locations across the UK. The national sculpture collection is truly global, offering insights into diverse cultures including twelfth-century Nigeria, Victorian Britain and 1960s New York.

The ambitious project is transforming the way people access and learn about their sculpture heritage, and will allow audiences to share knowledge, exchange opinions and visit sculptures, both in-person and online.

Sculpture project coordinators 

Julia Abel Smith Essex, Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire

Rachel Bentley West Midlands; North Midlands

Christine Blackburn East of England

Helen Clark South West England

Karen Clarke Southern England and the Channel Islands

Elanor Cowland London North and East

Laura Davidson London Westminster and City

Andrew Deathe Wales

Dickon Hall Northern Ireland

Elizabeth Heath National Collections

Katherine Hughes London South

Iain Irving Eastern Scotland

Helen Keighley Yorkshire

Barbara Pezzini South East England; Oxfordshire; Buckinghamshire and Berkshire

Bronwen Posner London West

Sophia Sheppard Scottish Highlands and Islands

Claire Sleightholm North of England

Ben Stoker East Midlands

Rhona Taylor Edinburgh and Southern Scotland

Adrienne Wallman North West England and the Isle of Man

Sculpture project photographers

Mark Box
Anna Bridson 
Jason Candlin 
Claire Collins 
Rolant Dafis 
Mike Davidson 
Lucy Dawkins 
Carsten Flieger 
Dave Green 
David Griffin 
Barney Hindle 
Julie Howden  
Pete Huggins 
Joe Humphrys 
Jason Hynes 
Jaron James 
Andy Johnson  
Jon Kempner
Rebecca Marr
Nick Matthews  
Andrew McGregor 
John McLean  
Josh Murfitt 
Mark O'Connor 
Gary Ombler 
Maciej Pawlikowski
Malcolm Payne  
Justin Piperger  
Simon Punter 
Anne Purkiss 
Bryan Rutledge 
Ian Skelton 
Dani Tagen 
Paul Thompson 
Derek Trillo 
Luke Unsworth 
Matt Ward 
Gary Williams 
Dan Wray