Trerice, with its most distinctive external feature, the five Dutch-style scrolled gables of the east front, is an ancient house, completed around 1573. After the death of John IX (1701–1768), 4th Baron Arundell of Trerice, Trerice passed to the Aclands of Killerton, thanks to the marriage of John VII (1649–1698), 2nd Baron, to Margaret Acland (d.1691) in 1675. It became a farmhouse, occupied by tenants. The Aclands sold it as a residence in 1915 and it passed through several hands, before being bought by the National Trust from Somerset de Chair, MP in 1953. There are bequeathed pictures, incongruously, an 'Ecce Homo' by Vincenzo Foppa and a number by ‘the Cornish Wonder’ John Opie, from the Cornishwoman Rosalind Grylls, Lady Mander, of Wightwick Manor. More appropriately, a charming portait of supposedly 'John Arundell VIII (1678–1706), 3rd Baron Arundell of Trerice, as a Boy', father of the last Arundells of Trerice, by Gaspar Smitz was acquired by the National Trust in 2007.